Things I love about a small town…

October 16, 2007 at 2:45 pm (Cute kids, Ramblings)

   Weiser, Idaho is a small, small town. It boasts a population of about 5,000, but there are lots of things I love about Weiser.  Here are a few things…you can see the stars at night, a little place called Jebs where you can get the best soft serve twist cone, and a friendly wave from anyone who passes you out in the country.  There are lots of other things and there are quite a few things that I hate about a small town (mostly that we don’t have a Wendy’s and I just gotta have a frosty every once in a while!).

     Technically where we live isn’t really a small town to me, but with about 20,000 people it is  small to Aaron.  Plus, after the other places we’ve lived it does seem small town-ish even to me.  Since we’ve lived here we’ve gone to a couple of city sponsored events and we’ve had a blast! Last weekend we stopped by the city activity and it was so fun! We didn’t wait in long lines, we didn’t park a million miles away and we didn’t have to fork out a load of cash! Lanette got to go through a hay bale maze, play in a little pumpkin patch, make a fall leaf craft, have a free donut and see a pony!  I wish we could have stayed longer ’cause there were even more cute things. Do you take advantage of the activities in your town? Or are you too cool? 🙂 Thank goodness Aaron is fascinated by anything small town! Is it weird that I hope we settle down in a smaller town? Do you have a town size or city size preference?

copy-of-dscn1542.JPG

   No one told me that once Lanette started wanting to do EVERYTHING by herself that I would learn the true definition of tantrum! We’ve had some very interesting experiences lately (think being late for everything to holding her screaming in the parking lot of the movie theater!) because we helped her with something she wanted to do by herself. How do you deal with that?  Do you have any tantrum tips for me? We’ve already implemented the “start-getting-ready-30-minutes-before-you-need-to-go” rule.  And we’re doing our best with the “ignore it” idea. I guess I’ve discovered that I’m the one who has a hard time learning…I keep forgetting that she has to buckle each velcro strap on her shoes (Do you think it will hurt her feet if she always wears her shoes on the wrong feet?) and that she can put on her own shirt-but she needs my help to take it off! Once she gets it down a little bit more I think it’ll probably be a blessing…but there are some big bumps on the way.

3 Comments

  1. April said,

    Kira,
    I am so glad you posted on our blog. I loved looking at yours. It made me miss living around BYU and small town type things. (We lived in Springville and to me that was a small town). Now we are totally on a different scale as far as towns go.
    Your kids are so cute. I think the last time I saw you, you were pregnant with Parker. Anyway, thanks for posting, if you don’t mind I think I will come back and check your site out every now and then. Do Delon and Lisa have a site?

  2. Lindsay said,

    I loved growing up in a small town, but don’t know if I could live in one forever. They are definitely great places to visit. That picture is so cute!

  3. Vicki said,

    The Harvest Moon Hurrah sounds like it was really fun! I like the idea of a celebration like that not being too crowded. I love the photo of you and your 2 cute kids!

Leave a comment